XFL Officially Announces Its Eight Cities For 2023 Season

The XFL officially announced which eight cities will host its teams when the third iteration of the league returns in 2023. 

According to an official announcement, the league will feature teams in Las Vegas, Orlando, San Antonio, Arlington (Texas), Houston, St. Louis, Seattle and Washington, D.C. 

Las Vegas, Orlando, San Antonio will be new additions to the XFL, while the other five cities have hosted teams in previous versions of the league.

The XFL eliminated New York, Los Angeles and Tampa Bay, all of which hosted teams in the previous iteration of the league. The three cities reportedly had the three lowest average attendance figures during the 2020 season.

The XFL did not yet reveal the names of its eight teams or any of the branding associated with its franchises. However, league owner Dwayne “The Rock” Johnson said in a statement that the league is “working on cool, new logos and innovative uniforms that match the dynamic and innovative vision of our league,” per ESPN.

The XFL’s first game is scheduled for Feb. 18, 2023, less than a week after Super Bowl LVII will take place. All 43 games, which include regular-season matchups as well as two semifinal playoff games and a championship of each XFL season, will be aired and distributed across ABC, ESPN and FX.