XFL Announces Draft Rules and Dates

The XFL is set to hold its inaugural draft. Each of the eight teams in the league will be assigned a quarterback before a snake style draft kicks off, according to the league’s announcement.

The snake draft will be split into five phases.

“The draft pool will include approximately 1,000 professional football players, all of whom accepted a Commissioner’s Invitation and passed a standard background check. In Phases 1-4, each team will choose ten players for a total of 40 players,” the release read. “In Phase 5, each team will choose from the pool of remaining players to complete its initial roster.”

Skill Players (QB, RB, WR, TE)
Offensive Line (OT, OG, OC)
Defensive Front Seven (DL, LB)
Defensive Backfield (CB, NB, SS, FS)
Open Draft (all remaining players after positional drafts, in addition to P/K/LS)
According to the league, the eight teams in the league will be selecting players from a pool that features more than 1,000 athletes. Every roster will require 71 players which will be the final phase of the draft.

The eight teams in the XFL are the DC Defenders, Dallas Renegades, Houston Roughnecks, Los Angeles Wildcats, New York Guardians, St. Louis BattleHawks, Seattle Dragons and Tampa Bay Vipers.

The first overall pick in the XFL draft will belong to DC. Los Angeles will have the first pick in the OL phase, Tampa Bay has their choice in the D7 phase, Dallas has the top pick in the DB Phase, and St. Louis will kickoff the open phase of the draft.