Six Great Players Make the Baseball Hall of Fame

The lasting impact of six former players was formally recognized on Sunday with their selections to the National Baseball Hall of Fame’s Class of 2022.

Gil Hodges, Jim Kaat, Minnie Miñoso and Tony Oliva were elected by the Golden Days Era Committee, and Bud Fowler and Buck O’Neil were chosen by the Early Baseball Era Committee in voting that took place in Orlando, Fla.

They will all be honored, along with any selections from the Baseball Writers’ Association of America ballot, at the July 24, 2022, induction ceremony in Cooperstown, N.Y.

This was the first meeting of both the Early Baseball Era and Golden Days Era Committees. The Early Baseball Era Committee considered candidates who made their contributions to baseball prior to 1950, while the Golden Days Era Committee considered candidates from 1950-69.